It is true that in some countries grandparents play a significant role in bringing up children. This trend has both positive and negative sides. Let’s look at the positive side first

From many ages, bringing up children is not only a parents’ duty but also a significant role of grandparents as well in some countries. While I agree that this trend has positive effects, I still believe that there are some negative ones in contrast.

Firstly, about the positive side. Grandparents are more careful in looking after their children. The children’s parents are usually working parents - they are busy at work but still have to take care of them. As a result, they may let the grandparents be responsible for that. Grandparents pay attention to their children in every detail so that they will never be afraid of being hungry, cold, or sick. Many children say that they were fatter, in a healthy way, when living with grandparents for just a summer. This is considered as evidence that the grandparents love their children and always want to give them the best things they have. Moreover, some children feel that their grandfathers and grandmothers are more supportive and warmer since they have not got much love from their parents because they have a lot of things in life to maintain. It is proven that when grandparents play a role in bringing up children, they really give positive effects to them.

On the other hand, children brought up by grandparents still face some negative problems. The biggest, clearest one must be the generation gap. As the younger are open-minded with everything in their life while the older are much more conservative, this more or less happens in all families. The children are curious about the entire world out there and they may want to try new or even weird things. That is the way how little boys and girls get knowledge. However, their grandparents usually prevent them from doing what they want because of, mainly, just a simple reason: “It is not good for you”. Sometimes, this reason is unconvincing and can increase unworthy conflicts which can harm the kinship. Although grandparents do not let their children do something just because they want to protect them, this is still a considerable problem that not many people can find a good solution to deal with.

In short, I admit that when grandparents bring up children, positive effects are undeniable, but there is still a negative side existing.