As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a concern that many minority languages may disappear. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

What is your view of this practice?

Through global integration, English, Spanish, and Mandarin have become popular as languages of international communication. However, this also creates anxiety in the extinction of minority languages by dominant groups. It is so significant that countries should preserve the national language to maintain their cultures and contribution to linguistic values.

Firstly, every country attempts to preserve the language to maintain its national culture. Language is one of the significant elements in which people can convey their own culture. Some countries have typical traditions and their language also represents those uniquenesses, therefore it is difficult to change or replace their first language with more dominant ones. Especially, some regions of a country have a distinctive culture which they are afraid to lose because of various customs or differences of history. For example, people do not speak Mandarin in some parts of China because they want to preserve their ancient culture.

Next, because every language has its own value, people have strived for protecting their own language. Firstly, unexpectedly sometimes the international language cannot help people to completely verbalize meanings of content that their own language can indicate transparently. Moreover, many people lose their confidence in the expression of emotion if they speak a second language. Secondly, through the language humans can explore the values of ancient history which just exist in particular nations. For instance, Hebrew is the pride for Israelis because it is an ancient language that was written in original Christian Bibble.

In conclusion, some countries attempt to preserve their minority languages occupying by dominant groups unless they do not want to lose their cultures. This effort not only can help to protect their cultures but also contribute their linguistic values to the world.