Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, using sports events as commercial advertisements is being utilised by large enterprises. Meanwhile, there are some perspectives that believe that this negatively affects sports. From my point of view, I partially agree with this statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, large companies are overusing sports events as only their promotion, which may cause some bad effects. There are a number of adolescents who are easily affected and are part of the main audience at sports events. Overusing sports seasons for promotion can consolidate their places in the commercial market, but not every product is appropriate. To exemplify, Tiger is known as one of the biggest sponsors of sports events. Probably, their products are not appropriate for teenagers who are under 18. However, Tiger is totally able to manipulate consumers by using the well-known players who are influential to use their beers. Therefore, sports’ image can get deteriorated by overusing advertisements.

On the other hand, due to enhancing the company’s image, numerous enterprises sponsor a large amount of money for sports events. On the contract, companies will fund the sports events to afford high-quality devices, accommodations and professional referees. With those conditions, sports producers implement companies’ benefits such as brand promotion. I consider it a healthy partnership when both sides gain their profits.

Altogether, I partially agree that considering sports seasons as advertisements by large companies can have a negative impact on sports. However, I do believe that if sports producers and enterprises know how to not overuse them, they may gain a healthy partnership from both sides.