Some people think that it is important to let children act independently and make their own decisions from an early age.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, education for children is being renovated since the globe’s development. It is said to be important for children to act independently and make their own decisions. From my point of view, I partially agree with this statement.

On the one hand, being able to act independently is a chance for children to have comprehensive development. Putting growing-up children in situations that force them to think is a way to improve their mindset. In that case, a child will be able to learn how to acknowledge and evaluate the problems he or she is going through. As a wise man said "No difficulties, no discoveries", an offspring can be passive in their mind if their parents always give them a hand to solve their problems. Furthermore, in the development process, having a chance to act independently can totally help a child to acknowledge life and be able to protect their own opinion.

On the other hand, children growing up need to have parents’ orientation. At a very early age, children are not able to define which is "should" and which is "should not". Without parents’ teaching, they can easily get into the wrong path or maybe worse. It is clear that children who do not get education from the elders will have bad manners and are willing to commit a crime. Because of that, in order to orient children to the morally rightful path, parents’ teaching is indispensable.

Overall, a child with full awareness of things that are happening around them should be able to act and think independently. However, children at a very early age still need to have parents’ orientation.