“Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity”. How far do you share this viewpoint?

In this rapidly developing world, more and more people are inclined towards doing charity to support others. A section of society believes that we should impose a firm amount of an individual’s salary to embrace charity. I totally agree that we should volunteer to assist people living in underaverage conditions, yet with an amount of money according to a provider’s ability.

On the one hand, it has always been said that “sharing is caring”. More than two thirds of the globe’s citizens are struggling with conditions of lacking water, or deprivation of food, as well as others. We, as the remaining one third who are living (even slightly) better, should support the underprivileged people, which then may thrive and improve the society we are living in. Moreover, not only does volunteering help our country, or even our globe, but it also develops our life standards.

On the other hand, due to our own conditions, installing a certain sum on donors may be an impractical implementation. A majority of one third group aforementioned that may only live their average life and hardly have sufficient income to even provide themselves and their family, let alone spend such a restricted amount of money for charity. Besides, it may be true that donating a similarly specific amount may be more effortless to keep track of. However, charity is based on people’s kindness, so it should not be restricted by a total of money.

Overall, it is our goodwill to decide how much we spend to help those who are suffering from unfortunate situations, as goodness should not be restricted.