Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, animals are being used as test subjects in order to determine the quality of new medicines, cosmetics, etc. It is said to be needed before humans use those medical products. However, in my perspective, I partially disagree and believe these terrifying experiments should be limited as much as possible.

On the one hand, using animals for medical experiments is needed to test their safety. Releasing products without testing may cause many problems for society when there is no certainty that they are applicable for humans. Meanwhile, there are some species that have nearly similar genes, cell structures, and physiology as humans. In order to guarantee the safety of the products, scientists have to use those species as laboratory animals. Even though there is no animal that is the same as a human but it is safer if a new medicine has been through stages of tests before being reached by the consumers.

On the other hand, laboratory animals are being used wrongly when some enterprises use them for non-medical purposes such as cosmetics. Before those makeup products are used by the consumers, obviously, they have been tested on animals. Each year, tons of animals, espeacially rabbits, are found harmed or dead due to the experiments. Those rabbits are still alive have to live with their pains forever. They are being treated in cruel and unethical ways.

In conclusion, I believe that we have to establish a limitation on animals expriments in the laboratory or expriment on cell structures instead of wholes animals. It may be a neccessary evil but animals need to have their respects.