Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that corporations these days sponsor sporting events so as to advertise their products. While some argue that this would negatively influence sports, I believe its benefits are more significant than any perceived downsides.

Detractors of corporate sponsorships point out the potential disturbance of such sponsors. Specifically, the sponsorship of sporting competitions could lead to the annoyance of certain products on particular athletes as corporations tend to display their logos and products during sports games as well as interviews. For example, Pogba, a famous soccer player, took the bottle of Heineken out of his sight during an interview because his religion did not allow him to drink alcoholic beverages, and thus the appearance of such products was an insult to him. Additionally, a reduction in focus on the actual sport could somehow be attributed to sports sponsors. Since many advertisements related to companies' products would bombard commercial breaks, billboards around the arenas, affecting the flow and performance during the match] some sports fans would feel annoyed and consider such events are nothing but a marketing tool for these products.

However, I believe the benefits related to adequate funds for sports events and athletes' incomes outweigh the aforementioned disadvantages. Having generous sponsors would obviously allow organizers to invest more money in upgrading stadiums or installing many modern facilities. As a result, such events could be organized more professionally so audiences can have a better overall experience. Besides, if there are many large firms sponsoring sport competitions, the prize money for a winner could be higher. This can act as a huge incentive for athletes to devote a great deal of time and effort to practice more diligently, which could lead to a more intensely competitive match for sports fans to enjoy.

In conclusion, though some claim that corporate sponsorship could negatively affect sports, I believe its advantages are more significant since such sponsors could help maintain professional facilities and pay athletes' incomes. Many large companies should therefore continue sponsoring sporting events, contributing to the growth of sports.