Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age, for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the most appropriate way to make road safety better is to increase the minimum legal age for utilizing means of transports such as cars and motorbikes. Although I admit that raising the minimum driving age is an effective method, I believe other solutions are much more significant.

On the one hand, I agree that it is useful to improve the minimum age of driving for several reasons. First of all, a large number of traffic accidents are caused mainly by young people. Because of their immaturity, they do not have enough perception to drive carefully. Thus, they will leave serious consequences to their lives and other people’s lives and also affect surrounding traffic such as traffic congestion. Furthermore, increasing the minimum legal age may somehow lessen the proportion of those people who have bad behavior such as running a red light, driving without a helmet, transgressing pavements and roadsides.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are still various methods to ensure road traffic safety since increasing minimum driving age is only advantageous to a certain extent. It is difficult to know whether those people are mature enough or not. One way of explaining this is that, nowadays, many students driving when they are yet old enough to participate in traffic. In spite of many warnings, those students still stubbornly disobey traffic laws. Therefore, instead of raising minimum driving age, the government must impose strict laws to manage traffic situation. Besides, traffic policemen should punish heavily those committing driving offenses and those in traffic without driving licenses. Last but not least, schools should also educate students about traffic to raise traffic safety awareness.

In conclusion, apart from increasing minimum legal age, there are some effective ways to improve road safety that can be done.