In some countries, men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It is a fact that some couples in several countries tend to have offspring late in their lives. This essay will discuss the reason for this development and analyze why I believe that this has more drawbacks than benefits.

In this modern world, many spouses are likely to have children late in life because some believe having children in their thirties or forties would help them to raise their children decently. To be more specific, some people may find it hard to find well-paid jobs when they are young, which help them to stay stable in life. They believe if they gave birth for their offspring when they are still in their twenties, they would have more concerns to worry about, apart from jobs and money. Furthermore, because of their youth, they would be inexperienced and have less knowledge in taking care of children. Many men and women afraid that they would nourish their offspring in an inappropriate way, which may adversely affect the process of growing up of their kids.

However, I would argue that these advantages are outweighed by the drawbacks. If many people followed this trend by delaying birth, this would have an unfavorable effects on the population structure of the world, especially the labor workforce. To explain this is that when the retirement rate increases, there would not be enough young people to take up the work of such previous people, which lead to the bad of economy of one country. Besides, some women might encounter difficulties in giving birth for their offspring because of the malfunction of their wombs. Therefore, they will have to pay a huge amount of money to treat their physical health.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this development are more considerable than its advantages.