Large company use sports events to promote their products. Some people think it has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Big enterprises use sporting events to advertise their products. However, some people argue that this may take its toll on sports. Personally, I totally disagree with this opinion.

Athletic events, especially international ones, often attract millions of attendance worldwide, not to mention a large number of people paying attention on television and social media. As a result, big businesses see these events as potential occasions to boost their products when sporting itself takes advantages of budget from commercial contracts.

For example, on EURO 2020, Nike and Adidas-two large sportswear companies provided several national football teams with their brand’s shoes and clothes which required a budget of millions of dollars. Footballers got high-quality sportswear which could put them in the best state in the competition. In return, these two brands then received a huge profit from consumers watching this competition which was much bigger in comparison with their investment. This is obviously a win-win situation.

On a larger scale, when sports events receive investment from big businesses, the revenue then may in turn be used in improving the facilities and training which helps promote athletes’ performance. Besides, sportsmen stand a chance of earning a lot of money from endorsements and pursuing their interest at the same time. Money can also be used to reward athletes if they did well in the competition.

Some people may question about the core value of sports when advertising appears everywhere on sporting events. However, it is believed that company investment can help enhance the quality of current sports as well as raise the passion for sport of sportsmen.

In conclusion, sporting business does not deserve criticism as it causes no harm to sports.