Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary society, there is a domination of megamalls over neibourhood and small stores. This essay will disclose the pros and cons of the trend and explain why this can be negative to the society.

At first glance, it is obvious that super-regional shopping centers provide buyers with convenience and a wide range of purchasable goods. Megamalls are usually anchored by department stores of numerous brands, especially apparel brands. This gives people a wide range to choose the best-fit item. For example, whenever there is a demand for sport shoes, customers can visit Adidas or Nike stores, which are anchoring in the mall within a short time. Additionally, large shopping centers often have entertaining amenities such as cinema, and also a vast convenient parking space. Therefore, going shopping, customer could think of it as an enjoyable trip or an one-day holiday.

On the other hand, however, there are visible consequences that negatively affect both society and businesses. Firstly, the majority of brands occupying leasable centers are famous brands or ones with big financial capital. As a result, when buyers tend to visit super-regional malls, small-scale companies of the private sector will witness their potential customers phasing out. Finally, this would lead to a total domination of huge corporation, and neighbourhood department stores would likely disappear. Moreover, because megamalls frequently locate on large leasable areas in countryside, people have to travel there on cars. Thus, there will be increase in use of private vehicles and consequently rise in traffic congestion. Take Chinese as an example, when it comes to the end of a short holiday, megacities like Beijing will surely experience severe congestion at the entrance to the town, some time it would take residents 24 hours to process.

In conclusion, megamalls worth being predominant, due to their convenient nature and various availability. Despite that, it would lead to traffic problems and the decease of small business. Therefore, I believe it is rather a negative development, and the widely construction of such centers should be considered meticulously.