Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, shopping malls become one the most highly debatable topics in the world. Some people believe that large malls replacing small shops, which create a positive impact, while others think that it has many disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain both advantages and disadvantages of large smalls and why I think that it will create a negative development.

To embarks with, when large-sized malls replaced small shops, people find all things easier as per their needs in one place. This is resulting in the reduction of traffic on roads and accidents. For instance, nearly 85% of shops in the town of Anand in India were, demolished and constructed into a big mall in 2018, as a result, people now required less time for buying clothes, groceries, and many household items, as well as traffic and related problems on roads, decreased by 56%. Therefore, the fewer smalls shops, the less time needed for shopping and less traffic on roads.

On the other hand, others and I, however, believe that if all small businesses are converted or replaced by big ones, local people lost their employment because all shops in big malls always required training and they hire as per their needs. Shopkeepers of small shops cannot afford the rent of big shops in a mall. This may lead them to shut down their business. In China, for example, in 2018, nearly 70 mega malls replaced more than 800 shops, leading more than 10,0000 workers to lose their jobs. Hence, the more malls replace small shops, the more people become unemployed due to rents.

In conclusion, although people find it easier in terms of shopping since they found all things in one place, it increases many obstacles for small business owners and the unemployment rate. In my words, despite having many advantages of large malls, their demerits are superior. It will create negative consequences for authorities and human beings.