Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that we should not give priority to learning history or anything related to ancient times because it could not lay foundations for later learning and living. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this and believe that this would be beneficial for human studies as well as medicine.

Indeed, learning about the past is of fundamental importance for people, especially anthropologists, who want to conduct advanced research on human studies. The research, which consists of observing and comparing between modern humans and their ancestors would help them gain detailed insights into their cultures and traditions. For instance, by observing bones’ structures of apes, scientists and researchers can figure out whether they are designed for hunting and gathering or not. This example indicates that these sorts of information may benefit research into humans regarding changes in different periods, which could arouse people an interest and passion for human studies.

Furthermore, alongside the influence of human studies, I believe that history also plays an indispensable role in medical development. In the past, people living in ancient times may experience various types of fatal disease due to the shortage of proper treatment. However, medical research into solutions has been improved recently. For instance, by decoding DNA of corpses, who are examined to be dead by tuberculosis, well-qualified doctors and experts can find out the cause of this, which is due to infectious bacteria. Therefore, this is a contributing factor in future medical treatments such as antibiotics or vaccines, which prevent people from the susceptibility to diseases that our ancestors were prone to.

In conclusion, although some people say that it is time-consuming and pointless to learn about the past, I argue that people should not dismiss history because of the mentioned reasons above.