In many parts of the world girls and boys are educated together in co-educational or mixed schools. Some people think that girls and boys benefit from being educated separately in single-sex schools. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The practice with regard to the education of both male and female students in mixed schools is prevalent in most countries. However, others believe that it will be more beneficial if they experience single-sex schools. In my opinion, I completely agree with the development of co-educational schools for two main reasons. First, it promotes interaction opportunities and second, mixed schools can prepare students for the real world.

In terms of interaction promotion, mixed-gender schools play an indispensable role in this development because they provide students with a lot of opportunities to communicate with each other. This communication is for different purposes such as daily talks, assignment exchange, and group discussion, all of which increases students’ interaction as they have to strike up a conversation to gain their needed information or simply for greetings. By constantly talking to their peers on a regular basis, they would be more active and have a better understanding of others’ personalities and thus, they perhaps could find out what they have in common.

Apart from the reason expressed above, co-educational schools also make students more well-prepared for the real world. Mixed schools create a world where everyone is able to share their dreams, ideas, and opinions, which are completely different with regard to individuals. Not only do they understand the similarities and differences between each other but they also find it easy to form a relationship. For example, when graduates find themselves in an entirely new environment as a company, it is important to observe colleagues’ behaviours whether they are like-minded to get on with them.

In conclusion, the idea with regard to the question of whether students should be educated in single-sex or mixed schools depends on individuals. However, I believe that mixed schools are more beneficial because of the effect of increased interaction and being well-prepared for the real world.