Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

Some people insist that there is nothing to gain from learning what happened in the past, while others believe that history plays an indispensable role in learning human’s life. This essay will first discuss reasons that people do not want to gain historical knowledge and second, it will explain its value and benefits in people’s lives.

Indeed, learning history or anything related to prehistoric time tends not to draw much people’s attention, especially the young generation because it is merely theoretical and does not provide any practical knowledge, which is helpful to develop their future career. For instance, if students learn about World War II, they will know exactly the event took place but unable to learn any academic knowledge, unlike mathematics or physics. Therefore, historical lessons may be proper for entertaining and could not help people lay the foundation for later learning.

However, I argue that we should not ignore the value of history in our lives and, it is fundamentally important to learning it everywhere, especially from schooling. Particularly, history is the source of knowledge, providing people detailed insights into their own culture and how their country has evolved. Taking Vietnam as an example, this country experienced over fifty years to fight against such intruders as America and France. If the youth study this period, they will understand how their ancestors defended the nation. Furthermore, history depicts mistakes made in the past, hence helping people to avoid similar ones in the future.

In conclusion, although some people do not give prioritize to learn history in their daily lives because it is redundant, I believe that learning history is a privilege that should not be dismissed.