It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important? Do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that governments are giving priority to the conservation of wildlife, while other problems are more necessary to solve. In my opinion, I agree with this because problems within society such as the shortage of accommodation should not be dismissed.

In some parts of the world, governments tend to invest a great deal of money and resources in protecting wildlife because the trend of exploiting wild animals for personal purposes is increasingly evident. For example, two-horn rhinos have recently been extinct due to the excessive exploitation and hunting, believing that their horns could be a medical treatment. However, many scientists have proved that their horns do not contain any valuable compounds to help people get rid of their illnesses. Therefore, making an effort to prevent this problem from happening in the first place is necessary to maintain the existence and diversity of numerous species.

However, apart from the reason expressed above, while protecting wildlife is important to some extent, the deficiency of accommodation within society should be taken into address. Nowadays, people, especially who are immigrants, tend to move to big cities and metropolises to settle down. However, they often find it extremely difficult to find a house or an apartment, which results from overpopulation and the increased housing price. This poses a problem to people as they have to live in low-quality residential areas or even slums, which adversely affect their living standard. This suggests that governments need to implement proper policies by investing money in different priorities to tackle this problem.

In conclusion, although it is certainly of great significance for governments to invest their budget in the protection of wildlife, they also need to pay proper attention to the shortage of housing, which requires adequate funds from them.