In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

The trend of living alone or in a nuclear family is increasingly prevalent among people rather than choosing to live in their large family groups. In my opinion, this is a negative development.

As families have become smaller than that of their counterparts about 20 years ago, people today tend to live separately from their grandparents, and this could have an adverse effect on children as they grow up. In a nuclear family, parents might be busy with their jobs and rarely spend time with their children, so babysitters are often responsible for taking care of them. The absence of parents means that friends, television, and the Internet become the primary influence on children’s behaviors. Therefore, it is no surprise that the decline of the extended family has been linked to a rise in psychological and behavioral problems among young children.

Apart from that reason expressed above, the option of living independently is perhaps even more damaging because of the psychological effects of reduced human interaction. Individuals who live on their own have nobody to talk to in person, so they cannot share problems or discuss the highs and lows of daily life. They forgo the constant stimulation and hustle and bustle of a large family. Daily communication at home might be replaced by passive distractions such as television, video games or the Internet. This type of existence is associated with boredom, loneliness, feelings of isolation or even alienation, all of which increase the susceptibility of mental illnesses such as depression or anxiety.

In conclusion, while the tendency of living alone or living in small family units is becoming popular, I believe that factors regarding the lack of proper childcare and human interaction could adversely affect their lives.