In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Many citizens these days prefer living in small families or in one-person households to living in nuclear families. Owing to its impact on children development and mental health, I believe this is a negative trend.

On the one hand, as families are getting smaller, children development is negatively affected. In fact, childcare nowadays is prohibitive and it has placed a burden on parents. Those parents have to spend more time working to cover the costs of raising progeny. Without support from grandparents, aunts or uncles, children are usually left alone with smartphones, tablets. These devices have been linked with increasing risk of psychological and behavioural problems during their formative years. What is more, reducing interaction with adult family members also deprives kids of the abilities to share and empathise with the others. This leads to poor interpersonal skills and it has a negative impact on children development in the long term.

On the other hand, the loneliness of one-person households has a detrimental effect on the mental health of adults. People who live alone can not cannot/might not/fail to share or discuss the highs and lows of daily life with their family members. The paucity of human contact puts more pressure on their stressful life. Consequently, those have to replace the desolation with passive distractions such as televisions, video games, or online chat room. This type of existence is associated with boredom, feeling of isolation, or even alienation. Researches have shown that isolation is a major factor influencing the incidence of mental illnesses.

In conclusion, one-person households and smaller families have a harmful effect on children as well as adults. Thus, the tendency to choose this lifestyle is ultimately a negative development.