In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

These days, a great number of millennials prefer small families or one-person household rather than extended families for various reasons. To my point of view, this is a positive development.

First of all, moving out of a large families to lead a solitary life helps to reduce conflict. Different generations have dissimilar values and preferences, thus, relatives who share the same roof could possibly oppose each other and develop mutual hatred. A typical example is the difference in lifestyles. While the young usually enjoy parties and stay up late, the elder prefer tranquil atmosphere and early bedtime, and as a result, conflict happens. Therefore, living in one-person household enable people to live in freedom and comfort without facing others’ constant judgement or critism.

Secondly, small families with one or two children creat favourable opportunities for people to interact with each others and offer better education. When living in large family groups, parents’ attention is likely to be distract from their children. Instead of spending time educating and communicating with their children, they have to share their time to take care of for other family members. In addition, compared to large families, it is easier for small families to organize bonding time such as picnics, shoppings, shared dinner, which strengthens family bonds.

In conclusion, I believe that the above trend is generally positive because it offers more personal space to fit individual needs, which is worthy to choose living alone or in a small family rather than in extended family group.