Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of commerce, marketing and advertising are becoming a vital tool to make the brand stand out in the market. In a certain degree, I agree that advertisements partly impact the sales, but I believe that products also answer the needs of consumers.

On the one hand, advertisements are used to build the wants in consumers’ mind, even if they do not need the product. Firstly, several people purchase goods as a trend, which is created by an effective marketing strategy. The insatiable demand of Apple’s products is a salient example of this phenomenon. Consumers wait overnight to buy the new releases and become loyal buyers of the brand, even though their phones have not been broken or damaged. It is obvious that the company has succeeded in developing a favourable brand reputation, which increase consumers confidence in the brand and its products, then ultimately drive the sales.

On the other hand, there are manifold arguments against this statement. In many cases, people’s choices have tendency to rely on their income, not manipulated by the advertisements. In general, most people earn average salary, which means they have to allocate their money wisely. As a result, they might make a purchase to satisfy their needs rather than meet the temptation caused by appealing advertisements around them. Besides, numerous people decide to buy a product due to its superior features. For instance, a car is purchased because it saves fuel or it has a upgraded safety system or it pollutes less.

In conclusion, although advertising contributes to elevate the revenue, it only plays a part in buying decision of consumers.