At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, the number of young adults is having tendency to surpass that of senior citizens. While this trend has certain drawbacks, I believe that its benefits far more outweigh these potential disadvantages.

On the one hand, the country with this population structure has experienced several problems on employment and poverty. First of all, a youthful population is likely to face with a lack of availability of jobs. A sharp increase in the number of young adults produces an oversupply of work force, which put pressures on the country to fulfill its potential. Besides, in the foreseeable future, technology will gradually replace human labour in many tasks, which leads to high number of unemployment. Moreover, unemployment means that various families are stuck with poverty. If the government cannot afford services and housing to support those family, it will increase the number of homeless and possibility of social crimes.

On the other hand, high number of adolescence brings profound advantages such as a vibrant workforce, higher productivity and more taxpayers. Firstly, youth population provide economy with a fertile source of workforce. Also, the intensive competition in employment promotes people to improve their skills and abilities, then, supplying the economy a valuable source of qualified employee. Secondly, compared to the elderly, the young is more creative and productive. Their brilliant brain and energetic mind enable them to adopt new technology quickly and promote efficiency with their creativity. Last but not least, the government is able to receive more money from taxes due to the increasing young population. It is obvious that a rise in the number of employee leads to an equivalent increase in taxes. The surplus money might be spent for implementing policies to facilitate economy and social development, as well as to resolve other problems.

In conclusion, it is seems to me that it is advantageous in various ways for countries to have more young adults than elderly people.