Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of knowing history is an ongoing debate. Some people think that being knowledgable about the past is nonbeneficial in our lives today. I oppose this statement because studying earlier events could benefit individuals by giving a substantial lesson on historical acts of heroism and help to recognize the mistakes that can be avoided in the future.

It is worth considering that events of the past are valuable as it provides information about what our ancestors did to build and develop our respective cultures. Moreover, ancient people devoted their efforts to protect their countries from violence during wars. For instance, a Filipino army general named Antonio Luna who fought in the Philippine-American War in 1898 and regarded as one of the toughest generals of his time became famous in the Philippines because of his bravery and strict discipline. Therefore, these heroic acts gave us a sense of pride and motivation to contribute to the development of society.

In addition, people will never know about their mistakes if they do not look back at the past. Learning from failures of our ancestors, along with examples of the losses those errors can cause, gives us a warning as to why we should not repeat them. For example, during World War II, most of Adolf Hitler's military campaigns were modeled from the strategy of the deceased Napoleon Bonaparte. While doing so, Hitler failed to study Napoleon’s losses when he attempted to send his soldiers into Russia. Because Hitler emulated this kind of campaign, his soldiers met the same fate. For this reason, we need to carefully study historical events to avoid repeating a failure.

To conclude, I completely disagree with the belief of some people that learning history has no beneficial outcome for modern society because being familiar with past events gives us the ability not only to recognize the successes of our ancestors but also to learn from past mistakes.