Learning English at school is often seen as important than learning local languages. If thess are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English, should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

It is often believed that learning English at school is more beneficial than knowing how to speak one's dialect. In this regard, many believe there will be extinction of these languages if they are not taught. In my opinion, it is more beneficial to learn both, i.e. understanding how to converse in English and also, in one's dialect.

One of the reasons people are often supportive of learning English is because, it is a common language that is used to communicate by individuals of diverse cultures and background. Inotherwords, it is understood by many which is why I opine that is necessary for everyone to learn how to speak simple and correct English.

Another reason why English should be learnt by all is due to the fact , it is more professional to converse in , especially in a professional setting. Therefore,It would rather be out of place to communicate in a dialect in an office as this could be misunderstood by many. For instance, my Aunt who was a secretary in a multinational company got sacked because she spoke to a client in her dialect, the client misinterpreted it to be an insult. Hence, the need to be fluent in English.

Notwithstanding, local languages should also be taught because it promotes our cultural heritage and also ensure the survival of our local languages. One of the ways by which we can ensure this, is by encouraging parents to teach their children how to converse in their dialect. If parents are able to communicate more with their children in these languages, it would encourage them to speak fluently. For instance, it has been observed that the Igbo's are mostly fluent in their dialect no matter how educated or exposed they become. This is because of how well their parents have taught them.

Furthermore, Children can be taught one or two of the indigenous languages peculiar to a particular place. For instance, in Nigeria, secondary school students are been taught one or two of her indigenous languages. All these are done to ensure the continuous sustenance of our culture despite how civilised or exposed we become.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for everyone to learn English because of its importance in communication, nevertheless, it is also important to learn to communicate in our indigenous languages to ensure it doesnt go extinct.