Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Men of letters often depict youth as energetic, healthy and promising, but old age as a gloomy end to which no one is looking forward. Ancient memories from a younger age seems to be the only comfort to those who bid farewell to the careers that they devoted their lives to. Nonetheless, the current circumstance clouds my judgement of whether it is the young or the old who enjoy life more.

Were it 20 years ago, I would have arbitrarily claimed that the young definitely enjoy life more than old people do. In my naivety, I thought, and I believe most people in their twenties would, that the world would embrace us with its endless challenges, excitements, and most of all, meanings of living. Like many, I wasn’t aware that reality isn’t as promising as what has been depicted in the fictions, until it slapped me in the face.

Of course, I am not speaking for myself alone. This insanely competitive world has sucked so dry the youth out of the younger generation that what’s left in their lives is merely tedious, meaningless labor. Sudden deaths caused by overloaded work, financial burdens ridiculously imposed by the housing market, and the unforeseeable return of upbringing offspring are strangling the working young. And those who happen to enjoy a little freedom, both financially and spiritually, cannot escape from the fate of being intoxicated by consumerism, which has set up an illusion of enjoyment.

Surrounded by this illusion, young people are made to think that they are enjoying life when they add something to the shopping cart. To think more deeply, isn’t it quite pathetic that our most celebrated enjoyment occurs only when we are making purchases? A luxury bag, sure. A fancy car, hell yeah. Deprived of individuality and humanity, the young, namely the still working, are molded into wealth generators in this morbid system.

But after a few decades in this world, everything changes. The accumulated age has reshaped the view of life. People start to look back and search for meanings, as if there were any, for the ordeal they have gone through when they were young, and for long-lost memories to justified the worthiness of the hardship.

Now the answer to the question who enjoy life more has completely eluded me, but I am certain the young enjoy no more than the old, because the old have been accustomed to the reality and got through the worst part, while the young are still in shock and suffering from it.