Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the striking downfalls from the regulation of speaking a foreign language have become an ongoing topic of debate in many parts of the world. It is a common belief that living in a country, which does not allow to apply any languages from abroad, can bring many huge benefits to broaden knowledge about exotic cultures. Nevertheless, there is a more persuasive argument that various social, as well as practical problems far, outweigh its advantage for several reasons.

On the one hand, lack of a high level of knowledge and expertise about one country’s language and costumes can contribute a decline to the hospitality of the locals. Specifically, because of word-limit, people call the older generations in an informal way. As a result, they can be considered as unrespected ones toward the elderly and make them feel distasteful at the first face-to-face meetings. For example, in some accidental cases, teenagers landing in an overseas country without much awareness of formal greetings with adults or the elderly can entail an unpleasant conversation the first time they meet. To be more precise, they call their peer’s parents as “guy” or “bro” instead of the formal ones.

On top of that, grasping an understanding of how to justify personal thoughts and clarify goals plays an indispensable role from a practical perspective. To put it another way, when one expresses a desire to be proficient at Microsoft Word and ask for help from others, who have to deal with language obstacles on a daily absis, they cannot perceive effectively. This leads to the reduction of work productivity on computers. According to the Oxford survey, approximately 75% of employees, who on top of the ranking, search for the information related to their tasks at hand on the Internet, rather than asking the native citizens.

To sum up, facing a language barrier can result in serious trouble in society and practical thorns. I suggest that the government of each country should place as much importance on international languages as they do on other problems that still exist in their country.