Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When living abroad where people’s mother tongue is no longer dominant, one of the greatest challenges in social issues is to encounter language barrier. It is admittedly believed that this will bring immigrants into several persistent problems. Pondering upon this issue, I suppose that these practical problems are inevitable but development in technology has made them less relevant for decade.

First and foremost, the ability to persist is what I put into my priority. Needless to say, not being able to fluently speak a foreign language would significantly cause the breakdown in understanding amongst people with different nationalities. As a highly likely consequence, immigrants’ survivability would be potentially jeopardized. Due to the deficiency in linguistic skills, emigrants are bound to suffer from being unable to get daily necessities done and becoming less qualified in job markets in the country they are living. For instance, every year, the United State expects an influx of several thousand settlers from different countries with different cultures. Recruitment, therefore, becomes increasingly more competitive and those having limited access to English initially cannot reach the command of the employment’s criterion. By and large, limited linguistic skills restrict people from surviving in the unfamiliar environments.

The further point holds no less importance in my argument is the predicament in integrating with the community. It cannot be denied that emigrants with bounded both linguistic and cultural repertoire find it overwhelming and strenuous to understand the native, thus misunderstanding and misconception will be inevitably caused. Without doubt, the native people may fail to understand, which leads to discrimination and harsh racism towards immigrants. As an unpromising result, this will result in further social isolation, emigrants’ misery and also mental illness. All in all, integration brings immigrants persistent problems in living abroad.

In conclusion, survivability and difficulty in integration are tenable reasons for my preference. Taking my analysis in to meticulous consideration, I believe that emigrants should take the most advantages of technology and prepare carefully to overcome practical problems when inhabiting a new country.