Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading or doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

In modern era, since people engage themselves with busy lifestyle, there has been a deficiency in spare time using for entertainment. Whether leisure time should be used for mind-boosting activities or relaxation is a prevalent topic. Pondering this issue, I hold strong interest that sufficient restoration is a more advantageous choice.

Intelligence-stimulating activities engender long-term impacts on people’s nervous system. Taking up brain-fostering hobbies is liable to trigger analyzing and intellectual skills which establish a far more flexible thinking pattern and cognitive skills. For instance, those devoting their free time to playing chess or puzzles hold a more superior and higher academic repertoire than the entire ones. Moreover, many studies have shown that keeping brain actively through reading or playing chess is conducive for preventing brain from losing power and reducing the process of Alzheimer’s disease as well as distracting people from daily tension.

However, proper resting also have a positive influence on people’s productivity. While keeping themselves out of discursive thoughts and heavy burden, people are liable to become less prone to mental diseases such as insomnia, sleep loss and deficiency in restoring energy which are significant contributors to jeopardize both mental and physical health and inevitably deteriorate one’s work efficiency and productivity. Therefore, people had better take more sufficient rest by doing meditation or more proper sleep in order to enhance concentration at work or while studying.

In conclusion, relaxing engenders a higher chance of avoiding detrimental effects of tension and is advantageous to effective productivity. Nevertheless, brain-stimulating hobbies are capable of establishing a more intelligent thinking pattern. Therefore, people should balance between these hobbies and relaxation so as to properly use their free time.