Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of living abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that moving to a country where a foreign language is spoken can lead to social and practical issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that living in a foreign country and speaking in a second language can cause problems for the individual. Perhaps the principal reason is that being forced to communicate in a language other than one's mother tongue can make it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, which often causes them to experience high levels of stress. Another social problem is that the language barrier prevents speakers of different languages from connecting with each other, leading to misunderstandings and even cultural tensions. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that residing in another country has disadvantages.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that dwelling overseas merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that those who have lived in a foreign nation have a tendency not only to become proficient in other languages but also to understand their cultures, which exerts a positive influence on their future career. To exemplify, research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that people who have lived overseas often have obtained a well-paying job more than compared to other job seekers. In addition, those who have resided in a foreign nation play an important role in the field of global trading considering that they have invaluable communication skills with foreigners. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.