Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Sometimes we have to reside in a country that require us to speak nonnative language. Some people argue that this may create significant social and practical problems. I completely agree with the statement and will explain the reasons.

Having to talk in foreign language can cause serious social problem because language serves as a communication bridge between people. All people use language when they want to say something. Thus if someone does not understand the language that people mainly speak, he or she will most likely be isolated from any social group. This can happen everywhere, including neighborhood and working places. For instance, a guy from United States just migrated to Japan where most people speak Japanese. Because he does not master Japanese, he finds difficulty in socializing with his neighbors in Japan.

Moreover, having to speak in nonnative language may also create significant practical problem because language can not be separated from people's daily activities. Almost every activity involves using language. This can be purchasing public transportation ticket, ordering food menu to understanding public announcement. Consequently, if someone does not master the language, his everyday activities will be hampered. For example, a women from United Kingdom just moved to Taiwan, where Mandarin Chinese become the language that is mainly used. Almost all of public transportation guide and food menu are written in Mandarin Chinese. Because she does not master Mandarin Chinese language, she then finds obstacles in doing her daily activities.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that having to live in a country which require us to speak nonnative language may cause significant social and practical problems because language serves as a communication bridge between people and language can not be separated from people's daily activities.