Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

In this contemporary era, people are keen on going abroad in order to get higher education or to work over there. However, to live in foreign country, people have to adapt their languages so that they can avoid numerous problems associated with it. This essay shall analyze the main factors behind this assertion with relative examples.

Needless to say, in foreign countries, without the knowledge of its local languages, living could be difficult. One of the integral and indispensable facts of this notion is that for a person who is not fluent in foreign language, it would be hard to establish good rapport with their native speakers. Language barrier can impede the conversion which would be troublesome as it might lead to confusion and misunderstanding between speaker and listener. Another major issue of this phenomenon is that due to lack of knowledge of the vernacular language, people are unable to develop any social network and could isolate them from the rest of the people. For example, in english-speaking country, a student from overseas has to understand the english. When a student is unable to do so, he can feel left out from the class as he would not be able to talk to other classmates.

In addition,there are various practical problems available that individuals should consider. First and foremost, not knowing the local language makes it hard for the immigrant to read important notices, to find directions or even asking for help. In this kind of situation, migrants could feel helpless and that can affect their mental peace too. Secondly, the major factor would be to manage the work. Although they have all the required skills and knowledge, It would be difficult for individuals to find the job as they would not be able to communicate well in interviews. For example, In any interview, most of the time the employer would be pleased to hire the person who has knowledge of its local language and is able to communicate fluently rather than the person who is struggling with it.

To conclude, it is conspicuous that before migrating to a country, one should try their best to possess the knowledge of the local language of that country in order to live smoothly overseas.