Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

International integration is the currently rising trend in the modern world which raises the question if accommodating in foreign nations where their official languages are required is beneficial for non-native speakers or it can be seriously problematic in social and occupational terms. Although advantages can be seen clearly, I believe that those negative situations are worth concerning.

There is an obvious reason why people believe that staying abroad is beneficial in some ways. People who live in another country with a different language are standing a good chance of experiencing culture sharing and technological evolution. As a result, exploration of the unique traditions is necessary and alongside, unforgettable memories are clearly noteworthy. In terms of technological adaptation in every aspect of life, especially in some western countries, staying overseas definitely means a higher living standard.

In contrast, I believe that some serious cases not only occur frequently but also affect people's lives massively in social and career status. To begin, living abroad is usually associated with social racism since there are invisible cultural barriers and differences in the way of thinking. Consequently, people accommodating in foreign countries are likely to become victims of violence, bullying and isolation. The example can be seen clearly in case of the Covid 19 pandemic when the number of Asians in Europe witnessing social racism has been recorded significantly high. Secondly, in terms of practical problems, the most common ones are job promotion. According to research in South America, there is a preference for higher positions for native employees which is similar to becoming less competitive for non-native residents, they just make efforts for a dead-end job.

To put in a nutshell, although benefits of living abroad are undeniable, there are several disadvantages, from my perspective, that are considered to outweigh the advantages. I suggest that entities regardless of organizations or governments should establish adequate policies to ensure the rights of non-native employees as global citizens.