Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

In the modern world, improving facilities standards is one of the major concerns. Having realized large government revenue is required for the conversion of old infrastructures, for instance, buildings, people claim that using this amount of expenditure to construct modern facilities such as houses and roads are more advantageous. Although there are some parts of the society protesting this idea, I wholeheartedly agree with this opinion.

There is an obvious reason for those who disagree with this trend. They often argue that maintaining old buildings can help their local areas benefit on both economic and social status. Due to the busy lifestyles in major metropolises, old facilities, especially those containing historical sites, stimulate citizens to get away from the hustle and bustle of their daily schedules. In economic terms, old buildings from the past often attract foreigners to visit and explore local culture, which somehow help indigenous people to improve their business.

In contrast, I totally support the idea that people greatly benefit from the erection of modern buildings and roads. I would like to argue that knocking down aged facilities to make rooms for the new ones positively affects not only the main cities but also rural areas since it can prevent citizens from unwanted consequences. Regarding urban residents, this comes with an insurance that new accommodations will immediately come up to their expectation and prevent from the threat of collapse. In terms of rural areas, such improvements can partly slow down the rate of industrialization, keep the peacefulness and healthy conditions for children to grow. Moreover, the constructions of modern houses and roads significantly protect people from the serious consequences of pollution. The case is worth considering when a large number of new routes and intersections are opened which can gradually mitigate the problematic conditions of traffic congestion in major metropolises. In conclusion, in spite of the requirement of a large sum of money to restore old buildings, people argue that this can benefit major cities significantly. However, I believe that the best for governments is to invest money in the construction of modern facilities to upgrade citizens living standards.