Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living overseas is a chance for self development. However, I agree with belief that said serious social problems may arise if someone lives in a country where they speak a foreign language for two main reasons.

Firstly, language barrier is a factor, which leads to miscommunication. Although it could be argued that living abroad can broaden our knowledge, not all of us have the capability to learn a foreign language. To illustrates, despite resources for studying language are distributed all over the internet and we study so hard, each people have different language intelligence. Not only local citizens will find difficulty to communicate with foreigners, it can also cause misunderstanding, which may develop into serious social conflicts. It is, therefore, clear how this obstacle would hamper the development of healthy relationship.

Secondly, cultural shock can be experienced by foreigners because of different culture. This is mainly because the most of people all over the world have different in ethics although we have a fluent foreign language skill. Take an example that some people disagree with a culture that allows young people call elderly without using title such as mister and miss and the opposite. Thus, living in a country where we cannot speak our mother tongue will lead us to deal with code of ethics, which, in turn, cause a lot of practical problems in society.

In conclusion, living overseas has many social and practical challenges not only because of language barrier, but also the difference in culture and ethics. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that our home country is the best place for us to live.