Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some believe that living in a foreign country can lead to severe social issues since it would be difficult to speak their language. From my point of view, the statement may be accurate to some extent, but a reason can be mentioned for it to prove wrong. Although having difficulties with a foreign language may lead to poor communication, a common language can solve all problems as well, such as English.

Establishing friendships is a leading Factor in living a good life in a foreign country. In fact, building new connections with other people as an immigrant helps people to overcome their depression during the first years of leaving their motherland. Moreover, it helps them to develop new skills and get adapted easily. Regarding this, language plays an essential role, as not being able to speak in the aimed language undermines the whole communication. For instance, in order to make friends in France, you require to speak French almost fluently unless you are not able to develop efficient interaction. As a result, a lack of language abilities will lead to social issues.

Even though the language is the first and most crucial factor for building new friendships in an unknown country, almost everyone from different nationalities can speak English these days. Therefore, not knowing a country's language cannot do much harm to our ability to make friends. However, there is still a distinguished role for the native language, if not English. To illustrate the point, when trying to get to know French people, it is preferred to speak French rather than English, but still, you can find your way through using just English. In a word, English is a widely spoken language that can be a key to many problems caused by language inefficiency.

In conclusion, I partially agree that having to speak an unfamiliar language when living abroad can cause communication problems, such as not being able to join friendly groups. However, a common language like English can make some friendships work.