Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People who are living in a foreign country where they have to use other languages rather than their own language can lead to serious social and practical problems. However, I believe that several benefits should also be considered. In this essay, both effects in social and practical problems including whether I will agree or not will be examined.

On the one hand, there are various serious social problems of living in a country using foreign language. Firstly, language barrier can be occurred between people since some country might use language in classifying the social status. For instance, in Thailand, public transportation like taxi, they will know that foreigners cannot read the information about rate in each route, therefore they will charge the prices twice times compared to Thai people rate. Furthermore, it might be hard to learn their culture which is important to get in group of friends. Learning in a local university, for example, foreign students should read a rule or listen to teachers about how to behave. As a consequent, it might be a trouble if some students cannot understand and do somethings against the rules.

On the other hand, some practical problems for people who living in different language speak can also happened. First of all, it is hard to communicate with local people since some country don’t use international language. One clear example is, In Japan, if we go to ask about how to travel by subway, we have to use translated tools like smart phone in order for Japanese people to understand which is extremely hard to live. Finally, problems in work and study is another example challenge for those people as they have to adapt with the courses and documents which all written in local language.

In conclusion, even though serious social and practical problems can be occurred to those who living in country where they have to speak a foreign language, I thoroughly argue against this statement. If people have a chance to spend their life in different language and culture, they will have a greater chance to improve their living skills.