Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Mastering a foreign language has always been one of the toughest challenges of those who intend to live or study in a different country. There has been a common knowledge that language barriers could bring tremendous problems to non-native speakers. While I agree with this idea, I also take the viewpoint that it would be significantly beneficial if a person can master the language skills.

On the one hand, many people have to struggle with numerous problems relating to language competence when trying to settle down in a new land. For example, a Vietnamese student starting studying in England may find it extremely challenging to communicate with native inhabitants or classmates coming from various countries in the world. Moreover, understanding lessons and lectures in academic and specific English can drive he or she to many difficulties or even depression.

On the other hand, the benefits brought by proficient language skills are enormous. Firstly, a person with fluent language skills are able to adapt to the new environment more quickly and are more likely to get along with new local residents. Secondly, people could stand a chance of learning new interesting cultures and local traditions which may be extremely essential for their studies as well as their living experiences. Therefore, it is crucially important that those planning to inhabit or study in a foreign country should prepare their language skills in advance.

In conclusion, people may cope with a number of issues if they lack of foreign language knowledge and skills such as misunderstanding or studying difficulties. However, it would be noticeably advantageous for those who are able to manage the language competence.