Living in a country where you have to speak in a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is argued by some that people, who live in a country where resident’s native languages are different from them, have to speak a language other than their own. It is said that certain major social and practical issues seem to stem from this. Personally, I completely agree with this point of view.

It is true that there appears to be several social issues that can be caused by this. Firstly, if people speak in their native language in public places living abroad, citizens of the country tend to feel that this action is disrespectful towards their culture, which can be seen in Russia. Furthermore, people who struggle to speak the spoken language where they live find it difficult to communicate with locals and make friends, and as a result, they might feel isolated. This has negative effects on people’s social as well as mental health, leading to depression.

In addition, there are various practical problems that people have to face when they live in a country speaking a language other than their mother tongue. It can be clearly seen when it comes to education. It is undoubtedly challenging to study in a foreign language, lowering the rate of academic achievements. People also have to obey regulations, ranging from laws to warning signs, that are probably written in the state language. If they break a law due to language barriers, misunderstanding the language cannot justify their unappropriate behaviours. After all, everyone needs to be financially stable, and thus they ought to either to be employed or to run a business. If they are not fluent in the spoken language where they want to work, it can be tough to find a job.

In conclusion, I do agree that major social and practical issues can derive from the situation when people live in a country where it is required to speak in a foreign language.