Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued by some people that moving from urban areas to suburbs is beneficial for big companies and industry. I feel that its drawbacks are outweighed by its benefits.

On the one hand, Perhaps the major drawback for big companies and factories, which decide to relocate into suburban areas, is that they have to invest in new facilities and buildings. This amount of money could be either be used to pay for employees’ wages or to improve the current infrastructure of the company. Secondly, moving takes time to feel comfortable in a new place, decreasing the output of products or services. In addition, companies will have to recruit new stuff, which is the time-consuming process. As a result, they might have to feel that they do not have enough money to be stable financially. For example, when Ziyo, the Uzbek textile company, experienced movement, it had to borrow money from the national bank to pay for its workers.

On the other hand, there are various benefits for companies that move to a small town or a village. Firstly, they will be able to employ cheap labor, meaning that there are many unemployed people who accept to work for the less amount of money in such places. Furthermore, taxes for air and water pollution as well as renting a building are less expensive than those in big cities. As a result, they can make more profit than they do in their previous places. For instance, Ziyo, the Uzbek textile company, began to increase its profit by about a quarter within two years, which is a good accomplishment.

In conclusion, although relocation has short-term drawbacks, I feel that it is better for companies and industries, because it has long-term benefits.