Long-distance flights use more fuel than cars and pollute the environment. We should discourage non-essential flight instead of limiting the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travelling by airplanes have burnt a huge amount of fuel to take-off and therefore it is more harmful to our environment than cars. While many people argue that we only need to limit the insignificant flights without discouraging cars driving, I believe that we are likely to cut back on both means of transportation.

It is true that an airplane requires a huge amount of fuel to take off into the sky and transport its passengers and goods. The more fuels the airplane engines consume, the more polluted air the environments have to suffer. As a result, we need to find other means of transportation or communication, which help to curb the needs of travel by model designed to fly. Moreover, there are many means of communication that are almost as good as face to face meeting such as Video calls through Facebook. Indeed, it is unnecessary to usually book air ticket to move across countries like the days before. The breakthrough technologies could promote and facilitate communication without producing pollution.

The best option is not only discouraging long-distance flights but a combination of limiting the use of cars and airplanes. While the fuel consumption of one airplane is much more than one car, the gross number of car commuting is a huge number and at the macro level, they will add up in big way. Therefore we could not underestimate the pollution that cars driving produce. Furthermore, cars has become so popular and therefore there is a range of effective measures that could control the amount of fuel released by automobiles. So, we can implement simply various measures that lead to the reduction of toxic air discharged by cars.

In conclusion, there is no compelling reason to choose the only one between car and airplane in order to reduce air pollution. The governments who is mainly responsible for environmental protection should discourage both fuel use of cars and long-distance flights.