A lot of money is spent on old buildings. Instead, they should be demolished and new buildings should be erected.

To what extend do you agree?

Some people believe that historic buildings are not worth being restored and instead funds should be spent on demolishing them and erecting new ones. I strongly disagree with this approach, as heritage side hold not only historic value, but also are a valuable tourist attraction that should be, where possible, restored.

Firstly old buildings are irreplaceable and as such, all effort should be made to preserve them and restore. They hold historic value and demolishing them is akin to erasing our past. Imagine that this reckless attitude would be applied to all heritage sides. Soon enough we would end up as some of the ancient Greek towns did, destroyed by civilizations that followed and stones used to build new structures. As a result, archaeologists struggle to solve some of their mysteries.

Secondly, historic buildings are a great tourist attraction, generating revenue by bringing tourist from all over the world. Take Oxford, a city that managed to preserve most of its heritage structures, with narrow pebbled roads, castle and one of the oldest universities in the world. Until this day, it attracts thousands of visitors every year, bringing profit to a multitude of businesses.

Thirdly, I do not think it is a choice between old and new, between past and future. I strongly believe that both can be easily married to create an inimitable panorama of the city, like it was done in Birmingham's centre. It is a great example of restoring old buildings where possible, while extending them and filling available space with modern, even avant-garde structures, creating very diverse, but historically responsible spaces.

In conclusion, old buildings should not be demolished but renewed to maintain the historic value, as well as to bring profits by attracting visitors.