*Task 2*

"Studies show that criminals get low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce the crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

As research depicts that felons do not get a high level of education, some postulate that by schooling them during the term of a sentence, crime might be reduced. I completely agree with this belive, as it could potentially improve ex-convicts chance of getting a job.

On the one side, destitution is a common reason for a person turning into a criminal. Therefore, acquiring a job and associated with it income, might stop a person from reoffending. For example, recent research conducted by University of Keele shows, that out of prisoners who gained minimum a college level education 87% did not commit further crimes. Meanwhile, out of those who did not get any tuition, as much as 73% returned to the prison within five years. Thus gaining education during penitentiary, might bring attainable benefits by reducing the rate of subsequent crimes.

On the other side, education has i its own value and gives people a better understanding of the world around them. Although people with a master degree can commit a crime, the rates of offences are much lower amongst well-educated individuals. According to the police statistics published in The Guardian last year, people with no formal education are responsible for 78% of all the crime, while those with a university degree for 3%. Therefore, schooling might hold an ethical value and increase in prisoners knowledge could make them more beneficial members of the society.

In conclusion, I strongly belive that improving the level of education of prisoners is the best way of pulling them out of live of offence, thus reducing the crime.