Studies show that criminals get low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce the crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these days, criminals’ education has aroused people’s discussion. It is argued by some that due to the fact that offenders are less educated, the optimal way to decrease in the number of offences is that teaching imprisoned people, therefore, they can have a promise prospect in the future. In my opinion, i partly concur with this notion since i believe it is not the most effective solution to reduce the crime.

To begin with, the compelling reasons why i am in favour of the view is that in all likelihood, educating prisoners is certainly mitigate the proportion of re-offence to some extent. There is a fact that ex-prisoners find it difficult to integrate socially as they are not employed on the account of the lack of knowledge as well as their criminal past. Thus, they tend to have a tendency to re-offend in order to earn money and survive. If they can be educated in prison, there would be more chances opening for them and they could be self-reliant to dedicate to society.

Nevertheless, i hang onto a notion that prevention is better than cure, which means people should learn how to be a moral citizen in lieu of studying after committing a crime. Specifically, with the purpose of reducing the number of wrongdoers, people should be educated carefully since they are young to understand about crime and the consequences. For example, in the UK, there is an effective way to enhance the youth’s knowledge about criminal world that ex-prisoners can share with teenagers about their imprisoned lives and the dangers of committing a crime to deter any young people’s criminal intention.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the percentage of crime could fall thanks to educating criminals given a prison sentence, however, it is not the best measure as there are more effective remedies such as teaching people about crime as soon as possible.