Today more and more tourists are visiting places that are difficult, such as Sahara and Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays, people more and more choose isolated locations for their holiday destinations. In my opinion, the main advantage of visiting places like Antarctica or Sahara is an opportunity to spend time away from work in an exciting and original way. However, there are also dangers in travelling there, as extremely exotic locations are usually remote and in an emergency help might not be available

On the one hand, difficult holiday destinations are often isolated. In the case of the accident, which could be more possible in dangerous geographic location, help might not be immediately available. For example, travellers in sub-Saharan Africa should consider a fact that reaching the hospital might take as long as four days. Therefore medical assistance might be delayed, resulting in loss of health or even life by the holidaymaker.

On the other hand, choosing a challenging tourist location might benefit a certain type of person who is stuck in a monotonous or stressful job. Travellers attracted by these types of places often tend to look for extreme experiences and might enjoy an adrenaline rush. For example, accordingly to the research published recently in The Guardian, remote and difficult holidays were the most common choice amongst bankers and lawyers, who also pointed out the boredom of their jobs. Therefore some people might benefit from challenging tourist destinations, as they can give them revival and newly found energy to face their work and thus support their mental health.

In conclusion, visiting remote travel locations can benefit people who struggle with dullness and repetitiveness of their work by providing an injection of excitement in their lives. However, it might also have some downfalls, most commonly associated with difficult access to emergency medical help.