Successful sport professional can earn a great deal more money than other important professionals

Nowadays, prominent sportsperson's earnings might be higher than individuals in respected occupations. Some people belive that it is a positive development, while others argue that it is unjustified. In my opinion, it is highly inappropriate and might have a demotivating effect on individuals working in essential jobs.

On the one hand, some people fervently belive that athletes deserve their humongous earnings. In other words, sport players have unique attributes and frequently bring their sponsors a considerable revenue, therefore should be adequately rewarded. For example, when Belvita decided to make Mo Farrah the face of their last campaign, sales of their health bar tripled, and well-known runner received £1million paycheck. Therefore, utilising athletes fame might bring significant revenue to his or her sponsors, so it is justified to reward them handsomely.

On the other hand, certain individuals argue that sport celebrities are overpaid, and there should be a cap on their earnings. They often point to the fact that other respected and significant occupations have been underpaid for several years, namely teachers and nurses. A recent report published in The Guardian shows that the average salary of a teacher is £26,000, while some football players earn more than in an hour. Therefore it might lead to an absence of motivation amongst the educators.

Finally, in my opinion, there is no need for anyone, especially a sport person, to be paid excessively. Enormous wages, high above individual's most ambitious needs, tend to have a detrimental influence on their life, often leading to drugs, partying and degeneration.

In conclusion, although well-known athletes generate high revenue for their sponsors and sport clubs, they should not earn more than people in respected and essential for society jobs.