Since most information about culture and history can be found on the internet, museums are not needed anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that museums are no longer of any value to modern citizens, as online technology provides us with all the information we need. I strongly disagree as nothing can compare with seeing a piece of art with our own eyes, not to mention the fact that museums play a vital role in research and restoration.

Museums provide truly multifaceted experience, which can not be copied with the most advanced of modern technology. Even though we can find facts, pictures, videos on the internet, it can not replace seeing an exhibition with our own eyes. Imagine learning about the snow, its qualities, seeing films of a blizzard, and then experiencing snowflakes falling on your skin, no amount of dry facts can compare with the encounter itself.

Moreover, museums are not only buildings holding historical artefacts and pieces of art, but also play a great role in restoring them, as well as conducting research. While some of the funding comes from government and philanthropists, daily visits and ticket sales play an important role in maintaining their upkeep. If museums ceased to exists, we would have to create another institution to take over the responsibility of looking after the exhibitions.

Recent pandemic of Covid-19 proved not only, how valuable museums are, but also how the modern technology can be used to their advantage. In the time, when most of the planet's population lives in lockdown, many museums stepped up, providing virtual tours, marrying this way modern technology with classically recognised values of the galleries.

In conclusion, even though online access to treasures held by museums is now easier than ever, and it might seem there is no need to see them in person, in my opinion, museums will always have their place. They are not only providing 3D, multi-sensual experience but also play a crucial role in preserving their collections as well as funding research.