Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays many people look for an alternative to fossil fuels, more commonly exploring energy generated by the sun, with the number of solar panels increasing all over the world. Government incentives are, in my opinion, a driving force behind this trend. Even though solar energy comes with multiple advantages for an individual household, like financial savings, its disadvantages must not be omitted, especially the weather dependency.

It is true that recent years saw a sharp increase in number of solar panels, installed in private homes. In my opinion, this trend is mostly generated by the government run projects, including environmental campaigns. However, for an ordinary person, financial grants are the main influence, deciding about investment in solar panel's installation. For example, the British government has been running Green Deal Grant, offering interest-free loans, for a number of years. As a result, solar energy has become more affordable for its citizens.

Diverting away from fossil fuels and to the sun-generated energy has many benefits for the whole country as well as individual households. Not only it provides clean energy but, after the solar panels are paid off, it is becoming free. As sunshine does not come with a monthly utility bill, households are able to generate formidable savings. In the UK an average family of four spends £100 every month to cover costs of electricity and gas bills, making solar panels and its cost-effectiveness, a desirable solution.

On the other hand, solar energy comes with its doubts and downfalls. As it is derived entirely from the sun, it relies on certain weather conditions that not always can be met. Let us take the United Kingdom, which is known for its rainy and gloomy climate. As a result, solar panels might become idle, not generating necessary energy and forcing household to rely on energy companies. Therefore, not actually lowering monthly bills but keeping people tied in contracts with gas and electricity providers.

In conclusion, solar energy has become more desirable for homeowners, thanks to the government's support. Even though it comes with arguments against, in the form of weather reliance, the benefits are undeniable, as solar panels can be a free energy source.