Science and technology are more important than history

A few individuals belive that learning science and technology is more important than acquiring historical knowledge. Although, in my opinion, STEM subjects are vital in the current world, knowing the past is crucial as it helps to avoid mistakes of the bygone era.

On the one hand, some postulate that science and technology are the most important subjects, as they lead to innovation. The modern world is based on progress, as daily discoveries are made leading to the digitalisation and computerisation of manufacturing, medicine and education. For instance, these days, teachers more often than ever before, are replaced by online resources, as children are able to access a plethora of information online. Therefore, not following modern trends in developing resources might mean that some people stay behind and their knowledge becomes inadequate.

On the other hand, knowing history is crucial as it not only explains how nations got to where they are, but also helps to prevent repeating past mistakes, irregardless of how irrelevant the bygone eras might seem to be. For example, having the knowledge of previous wars and how devastating they were, should be a lesson to all nations, as well as encouragement not yo repeat the same mistakes. This learning history has a capacity of creating a better future.

In conclusion, despite history and technology subjects helping people to keep up with the modern progress, awareness of history is a necessity as it helps current generation to learn from mistakes of their forefathers. Therefore both disciplines are equally important and should be thought alongside each other to deliver the best result for the individual as well as society.