Children watching tv

With television becoming ubiquitous across different culture and countries, it comes as no surprise that young children spend more time watching TV channels than ever before. In my opinion, this negative development is mainly caused by changes in the family model.

As the access to communication devices grows, television becomes more available. Members of many communities can access programmes on mobile devices, making watching tv the entertainment of choice not only at home but also while out and about. Adding to it recent changes in the family model, like the nuclear family becoming increasingly common, mothers taking on paid jobs and necessity to complete the chores in the afternoon, society approached relatively new situation: television used as a baby sitter. A recent study at the University of Keele shows that 85% of children are left in front of the TV for more than an hour, while either of the carers can complete the chores.

While watching television is not a negative way of spending free time and can have an educational value, I believe that children are left in front of the TV too frequently, and it tends to have a negative impact on their development. Firstly, British Children's Charity does not recommend watching TV at all for toddlers under the age of 2, as it tends to have a detrimental effect on their cognitive skills. With the kids' age, the problem of overexposure becomes more noticeable: Sleep Clinic at Birmingham Children Hospital recently published the research shows, that 80% of school-age children have a problem falling asleep, as a result of blue light generated by electronic devices like TVs and tablets.

In conclusion, the transition of the female role in the family is a primary reason behind children glued to the television for prolonged periods of time. I strongly belive that this habit has an adverse effect on mental, emotional and social lives of young people.