Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and measures can be taken to tackle the problem?

It is very common for first-time prisoners to go on and commit further crimes, after being released from jail. I think it is mostly caused by collapse of the non-criminal support system and exposure to antisocial behaviour while in a rehabilitation facility and could be prevented by sentencing to prison only as a last resort.

While in the penitentiary facility, first-time offenders are often influenced by more experienced criminals, they might even see them as new role models. After the sentence is finished, ex-convicts often struggle to rebuild previous, non-criminal relationships. What exacerbates already difficult situation, is a fact, that many companies do not wish to employ an ex-offender. Nowadays, as many as 60% of all job vacancies require a DBS check or a statement of not having a criminal record. All these factors play a great role in person's ability to adapt to post-prison reality. Lack of this adaptation makes committing further offences more common.

Luckily there are ways to tackle the issue, but the approach must be multifaceted, with the close cooperation of all agencies involved in process of social rehabilitation. The prison sentence should only be used as a last resort, to avoid a person's exposure to further criminal behaviour. The solution could be rehabilitation centres, offering job apprenticeships, training and education. The aim must be to remove the roots of criminal behaviour and to change a person's antisocial environment, maybe even by relocating, while strengthening positive relationships. Recent police statistics show that ex-convicts were much less likely to re-offend if they had a full time, permanent job.

In conclusion, the best way to cut down a number of subsequent crimes, is to give an ex-offender a place in the community, ideally a stable job and nurturing environment, while applying a prison sentence only, if everything else fails. I strongly believe that this approach could reduce the criminal influences common in traditional penitentiary facilities and therefore the likelihood of subsequent offences.