Studying abroad, pris and cons

Travel, especially to educate yourself abroad, is known to broaden horizons and offer new opportunities. No surprise then that it becomes increasingly popular amongst college graduates from all over the world. Learning in a foreign country helps not only to become fluent in a new language but also to build international links that might be beneficial in the future. But it also has its disadvantages that can not be omitted, most prominent being social and cultural isolation with its consequences.

Studying abroad is a very tempting choice and rightly so, as it allows developing a new language fluency in the way, which is incomparable to any type of course. Moreover, it allows exploring a foreign culture and broaden horizons. But in my opinion, the most beneficial effect of educating in another country, is an opportunity to build international relations. They often benefit students in the future by providing much wider employment opportunities. For example, recent research conducted at the University of Keele in the UK, showed that 60% of their foreign students, who initially went back to their home country, returned within 5 years to take on a job opportunity in the UK.

Despite these advantages, many students find relocation to a foreign country, challenging. It usually derives from deep cultural differences, usually most noticeable between strongly religious countries and some western nations, where hardly any rules of moral or religious behaviour are commonly obeyed. This might easily exacerbate the feeling of social isolation common amongst students from abroad, leading to depression and anxiety. This topic was recently discussed in The Guardian, where it was noted, that 36% of the respondents, described themselves as having poor mental health.

In conclusion, even though attending university in a foreign country will bring benefits of perfecting a new language and creating new job opportuinries, it might also bring difficulties. The subject of the effect of studying abroad on mental health should definitely be considered when choosing a place of further education.